Time… How quietly it slips by.

I just had one of those moments when you look up and realize that decades have snuck by.

A childhood friend of mine posted a bunch of photos on Facebook – photos of OJ Simpson, Sophia Loren, James Coburn and others – when they were on St. Lucia filming the movie FIREPOWER in the late 70s.  As kids growing up there we watched a lot of the filming that went on – it was a big deal on an island that had yet to be fully discovered by mainstream tourism.

I remember clearly a scene they shot where they blew up a large radio controlled helicopter over the water at one of beaches, and as soon as they called “cut”, a swarm of us kids charged into the water to collect the bits. FP

Thinking about that is nostalgic, sure, but what really drove it home was when I Googled the poster that went with the movie.  When I saw it I was instantly transported to the late 70s.  The poster is hand drawn and filled with little vignettes and moments from the movie – it carries such a distinctive feel, almost indescribable, but something that everyone who went to the movies back then can instantly relate to.

As soon as I saw the poster I had this wonderful rush of childhood memories, followed closely by the terrifying reality that watching FIREPOWER get made was something I did in 1979… 37 years ago.

Sheesh.  I guess some time slipped by there when I wasn’t looking.

 

2 responses to “Time… How quietly it slips by.

  • jeffo

    I hear you, Dan.

    It’s a strange thing. At times, I feel quite fine with the passage of time and where I am on the timeline; other times, it’s that “Holy crap, what happened?” and, worse yet, “How much time is left?” Yeesh. Morbid much?

Leave a Reply

The Doubting Writer

A blog by Dan Newman

LITERARY CARRIE

A blog by Dan Newman

