Sometimes a tune just getsya

It’s unlikely you know this, but I’m deaf in one ear. Manufacturers defect, no warranty.

Anyway, the reason I mention it is that I have always felt that because of my mono status, its always taken a really great song to move me. In fact, my short list of songs that I see as truly in the “A” category is horribly short… I mean we’re talking less than 10. I won’t list them here, but you’d find the list quite eclectic (okay – I’ll drop one title that might give you an idea of the kind of “A” list I have: Come On Eileen by Dexys Midnight Runners – frikkin’ brilliant.)

Anyway, the reason for the post is that I’m getting ready to add another song to that list. Alert the media. Wake up the guys with the long trumpets and funny shoes.

I’ve been listening to this song for a while now, and I have to say it mesmerizes me. There’s something in the woman’s timbre, the way she lays out a line – it’s like walking through glue: You can’t help but stop and listen.

Do yourself a favour and check it out… if you haven’t already. Royals by Lorde. There’s a depth to that song that will suck you in like quicksand.

Enjoy.

One response to “Sometimes a tune just getsya

Leave a Reply

The Doubting Writer

A blog by Dan Newman

LITERARY CARRIE

A blog by Dan Newman

